Unit Group ACL
The set of rights for unit groups is the same as for individual units. The access rights given to a group extend to the units that belong to it. For example, if the right to view commands is given to a user, then the user will be able to see the commands of each unit in the group.
Besides, some access rights can affect not only units in the group but the group itself. For example, if the right to change the icon is granted to the user, then this user will be able to change both the icon of any unit in the group and the icon of the group itself. Here is the list of rights with dual action:
- View item and its basic properties
- Manage access to this item
- Delete item
- Rename item
- View custom fields
- Manage custom fields
- View admin fields
- Manage admin fields
- Change icon
- Query reports or messages
- Manage item log
- View and download files
- Upload and delete files
The Edit ACL propagated items checkbox is the right that allows to add and remove the units to/from the group.
The rest of the access rights affect only units. See Unit ACL for details.
When using groups, follow the hierarchy of rights and consider the peculiarities described below.
- The creator of the group should have rights to the units. In this case, they can transfer the rights to these units to the users that are lower in the hierarchy by giving them access to the group.
- When a user receives access rights to the group, they receive the same rights to all the units that belong to it. In this way, the user’s rights to the units can be expanded due to the group.
- The group can expand the access rights to the unit, but not limit them. If the user’s rights to the unit and the group to which it belongs are different, a wider list of rights is applied.
When creating a unit group or giving other users access to it, the creator’s rights to the units do not change.